Home Page

Meet the Governors

Picture 1

From September 2015 Acorns Primary and Shipston-on-Stour Primary (Stour Federation) have been working in closer collaboration with one of our neighbouring schools, Brailes C of E Primary School. 


We have had a very positive experience since federating with Shipston-on-Stour Primary in 2011. The move to work with Shipston Primary continues to bring benefits to pupils in both Long Compton, Shipston and surrounding villages, at a time when rural schools are being put under increasing financial pressure. 


By working together we have been able to strengthen our leadership team and build capacity, having an Associate Head at each school but overseen by Christian Hilton as Executive Headteacher; save money by achieving economies of scale and, most importantly, raise standards for our children, who have benefited from shared expertise and specialist education provision and resources across both schools.


An opportunity arose in April 2015 to work with Brailes C of E Primary School, commencing in September 2015.  Brailes has been rated by Ofsted as Good.


Brailes cannot officially join our Federation as maintained schools and academies are not permitted to federate.  In addition, they would have to convert to academy status to join our multi-academy trust, which requires more detailed consideration.  Therefore we have formed a collaborative partnership with Brailes C of E Primary School for an initial period of two years, with Brailes retaining a separate governing body and receiving support from the Diocese and Local Authority.   Brailes, Shipston and Acorns are led by Christian Hilton as Executive Headteacher, who will work across all three schools. Mr. Hilton will be based at Shipston three days a week, and one day a week each at Acorns and Brailes.


While Mr. Hilton will spend half a day less at Acorns and Shipston, each school will have a dedicated Associate Headteacher. For Acorns this will be Mrs. Young, for Shipston Mr. Roberts and for Brailes Mrs. Childs will be seconded for the initial two year period. Brailes will reimburse Acorns and Shipston for Mr. Hilton’s and Mrs. Childs’ time.


Our Federated Board of Governors has been rigorous in its scrutiny of such a partnership. Any change has to be in the interests of Acorns and Shpston pupils and having explored this fully, the board felt that the partnership bring benefits to all three schools. 


Each school continues to retain its own separate identity, uniform and admissions policy. However, behind the scenes we will all work towards the common goal of raising standards together, and as we share expertise, leadership and resources we hope you will notice a difference for the better.


Shipston-on-Stour Primary School -


Brailes Church of England Primary School - 


Federated Governing Body (responsible for Acorns Primary and Shipston Primary.


Jo Barker Chair Local Authority
Jackie Brown      Vice Chair and Resources Chair Member
Nick Jennings                Resources Community
Jeanette Harris               Resources (Health and Safety) Staff
Mike Dumelow         Resources Community
Ian Fairbourn Children and Curriculum Member
Ann Holland Resources Community
Thomas Wrigley  Children and Curriculum Parent(Acorns)
Rachel Sellars Children and Curriculum Parent(Acorns)
Amy Bayliss Children and Curriculum Teacher (Acorns)
Jo Rice Children and Curriculum Chair Member
Elaine Hobday Children and Curriculum (Attendance and Safeguarding) Community
Alice Rose Children and Curriculum Teacher (Shipston)
Austin Cooke Children and Curriculum Parent(Shipston)
Nicola Hazelton Children and Curriculum (SEN) Parent(Shipston)
Christian Hilton Executive Headteacher Staff
Glyn Roberts Associate Headteacher, Shipston Primary, Resources Associate
Hannah Young Associate Headteacher, Acorns Primary, Children and Curriculum Associate

The Clerk and Chair of Governors may be contacted via the school. 

Instrument of Government for Federated Governing Bodies

  1. The name of the federation is the Stour Federation
  2. The names and categories of the schools within the Federation are: 
        Acorns Primary School- Community School
        Shipston Primary School- Foundation School
  3. The name of the governing body is The Governing Body of the Stour Federation.
  4. The governing body shall consist of:
        7 Parent governors
        3 LA governors
        5 Staff governors (including the Head of Federation)
        4 Community governors
        2 Partnership governors
  5. The total number of governors will be 21.
  6.  Parent governors will be elected as follows:
        Two parent governors from Acorns Primary School
        Five parent governors from Shipston Primary School
  7. The Instrument comes into effect on 1st January 2011
  8. The Instrument was made by order of Warwickshire Local Authority on 16th December 2010.